Advent, the 7th Day

Well it’s the 7th day of Advent, and our short story Advent calendar continues. For those of you that have been sharing and sending us messages about the stories, thank you, we’ve been passing on your comments to the authors, and we’ll continue to do so as we get them.

For the 7th day of our short stories, we’re taking a trip to the realm of Celadmore. There are a few stories that we have to share from C.S. Woolley’s fantasy realm, but the first of them comes from the diary of Calso Morgan, one of the characters from the Shroud of Darkness Trilogy. As there is no Christmas in Celadmore, the short stories from Caslo are his journal entries from the start of the new year, written several years before the novel, Shroud of Darkness, takes place.

2650GL 1st Sprengan

The first day of the new year, filled with such hope and promise…hope that we will see an end to the troubles on the mainland and promise that I will not be cooped up on the island forever.

It has been three years since I was called to Queteria to train for an unknown task. I was chosen for my swordsmanship, stealth abilities and horsemanship. My archery skills were called into question by the Elders upon my arrival in the city and I spent the first four months training solidly until they were convinced that I had improved by a satisfactory amount.

The training was not something that irritated me, however the attitude of the old vultures was something that gnawed at me. No one has told me what it is that I was sent here to train for, nor what was required of me before I arrived – this was told to me only this morning as my time is apparently drawing to a close here.

I was told I was expected to serve without question and die to defend my charges. I still am none-the-wiser as to whom my charges might be, but I was told I had to accept this responsibility or leave.

Leaving did not seem to be a sensible course of action, so I accepted.

There was a lot of commotion this morning as it is rumoured that the Eight have arrived on the island, or rather what remains of the Eight after they were ambushed by a force of two hundred from Hocuna. They lost two in the fighting, Elika and Elhanan are both said to have gone to Halsanda. I had never met either of them but their reputation spoke volumes for them both. Elika served as Queen Annalia’s personal bodyguard until she became Queen and was then asked to ride with the Eight. Elhanan was the brother of Shammah, the current leader of the Eight, the two having created tales of daring to rival that of the Anaguran Queens before they reached the age of testing. Shammah has led the Eight since the passing of Elisha, his mother, who led the Eight before him.

Eleazar, the youngest member of the Eight and Tulsana, his older sister, are reported to be severely injured leaving only Maharai, Helez and Jashobeam besides Shammah who are able to ride.

Considering the odds of thirty five to one, the losses are much in line with their fearsome reputation, given that none of Darnado’s men survived. I have also been told that Lady Gekendra, princess of the Order, has been dispatched as an envoy to Hocuna in response to the violence.

There seems to be more gossip mongering here than warrior training. I am more than tempted to request a transfer to undertake my sword training next week in the city of Anamoore. There is much more study and less intrigue in the capital than here.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Shroud of Darkness Trilogy

A fantasy book trilogy that was 16 years in the making. The trilogy follows Venetia, a queen amongst her people in the fantasy realm of Celadmore. Strange occurrences in her home world have Venetia searching for answers as to whether an old evil has returned or if a new threat has arisen. Joined by a number of unlikely allies, who do not all get along with one another, Venetia has to fight against not only the darkness threatening to destroy her home world but the treachery of politicians, the fear in those around her, assassins that want to take her throne from her and those that would go to any lengths to try and prevent another war.

The Shroud of Darkness Trilogy contains the three volumes of the Shroud of Darkness trilogy in the Chronicles of Celadmore – Shroud of Darkness, Lady of Fire and End of Days

Shroud of Darkness

In the realm of Celadmore, evil is stirring. The war torn land has not recovered from the last conflict as evil rises and threatens to ensnare the world of light. Venetia, favourite daughter of Queen Annalia, must fight enemies and allies alike. She must uncover truth amidst deception to discover the source of this new threat to her world before the darkness engulfs it.

Lady of Fire

United they must stand for destruction is upon them. The realm of Celadmore faces it’s destruction as a war that none perceived is brought against them. Venetia, Queen of the Order of Anagura and Queteria, must forge a new alliance between the nations of Celadmore against the evil that Aksoth, Lord of Nether Roth, is set to unleash. The Allied Spirit of Celadmore must be raised and march once more.

End of Days

The end is here. Aksoth’s forces roam unchecked across the plains of Celadmore; the people of Celadmore have been forced to retreat to the fallen city of Grashindorph. Revolution stirs amongst the poorest of the people; Venetia seeks to restore Gruagadon to his rightful place on the throne of Nesca and will sacrifice anything to get him there. In this final bastion, they must find victory.

The Chronicles of Celadmore (in chronological order)

The Rising Empire Trilogy
1. Rising Empire: Part 1
2. Rising Empire: Part 2
3. Rising Empire: Part 3

Shroud of Darkness Trilogy
4. Shroud of Darkness
5. Lady of Fire
6. End of Days

Fading Dawn Trilogy
7. When Darkness Falls
8. Torn Allegiance
9. Fading Dawn

Ailing Light Trilogy
10. Ailing Light
11. Ill Blowing Wind
12. Shadow of the South

Sign up to our mailing list to get the latest news, releases and offers from Mightier Then the Sword UK.
%d bloggers like this: