12th Day of Advent

We’re jumping back to Celadmore today with more from the diary of Caslo Morgan from the Chronicles of Celadmore. This is the third journal entry from his New Year diary (there’s no Christmas in Celadmore), the first journal entry was published in 7th Day of Advent and the 2nd on 10th Day of Advent if you want to catch up.

2650GL 15th Spregan

We have been in the capital now for three days. The whole city seems awash with excitement at the presence of some many of the royal family at one time and the arrival of the legendary warriors of the Eight.

When we made our way through the streets towards the castle, the streets were lined with people cheering and throwing flowers. Shammah led Maharai, Helez and Jashobeam with more pride and dignity than I thought possible. I rode behind them and tried to look as inconspicuous as possible…I wasn’t all together very successful. Being brought to the island by order of the Elders and being known as the man who saved the life of Prince Radow isn’t really the best way to avoid being the subject of gossip. That and news of my appointment to ride with the Eight seemed to have somehow managed to reach the city of Anamoore ahead of us.

When we reached the castle there were two people waiting on the steps that I hadn’t seen before. Shammah clearly recognised them as he saluted and dismounted as he reached them. They were introduced to the rest of our party as Tusala and Hisanda. The two of them had been chosen by Shammah as the next to ride with the Eight and had been asked to meet him here to be inspected by Queen Annalia. Shammah had chosen them both as candidates to join long before Elika and Elhanan had fallen in battle. After their deaths he had contacted both of them and asked them to meet him at the castle.

Tusala struck me as very young to be riding as one of the Eight, she is barely over the age of 14, but Shammah’s judgement has been impeccable in recognising those that are worthy of riding with the Eight.

This was the first time that I had ever been to Castle Anamoore. The building itself was impressive beyond reckoning, the palace in Queteria and the palace of Ice and Light though beautiful and ornate were a complete contrast to Castle Anamoore. The whole castle was designed for battle, from the narrow streets that led up to it, to the heavy barred doors at every entrance.

Lining the entrance hall to the castle were more royal guards than I have ever seen in my life. Each of them shone more brightly in their armour than the spires of the palace of the Ice and Light, it was almost blinding. Shammah, Tusala and Hisanda were called before Queen Annalia so the rest of us were shown into guest quarters to wait until we were called for.

The princess Venetia was the one who led us through the maze of corridors in the castle. She was seven years old, a mere slip of a girl and yet she was shown more respect by the warriors that we passed than any other living member of the Order. She already wore her own blade, the Clambria Yesma; she had proven herself in battle beside those that now saluted her as she walked. She strode through her home with a stature that comes to warriors after years of forging reputations in the fires of war.

She is the only member of the royal line that seems to be in residence besides Queen Annalia. Lady Morrigan is not in the city, neither is Lady Gekendra. The gossips in Queteria, though normally accurate in their information, seem to be misinformed on this occasion.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Shroud of Darkness Trilogy

A fantasy book trilogy that was 16 years in the making. The trilogy follows Venetia, a queen amongst her people in the fantasy realm of Celadmore. Strange occurrences in her home world have Venetia searching for answers as to whether an old evil has returned or if a new threat has arisen. Joined by a number of unlikely allies, who do not all get along with one another, Venetia has to fight against not only the darkness threatening to destroy her home world but the treachery of politicians, the fear in those around her, assassins that want to take her throne from her and those that would go to any lengths to try and prevent another war.

The Shroud of Darkness Trilogy contains the three volumes of the Shroud of Darkness trilogy in the Chronicles of Celadmore – Shroud of Darkness, Lady of Fire and End of Days

Shroud of Darkness

In the realm of Celadmore, evil is stirring. The war torn land has not recovered from the last conflict as evil rises and threatens to ensnare the world of light. Venetia, favourite daughter of Queen Annalia, must fight enemies and allies alike. She must uncover truth amidst deception to discover the source of this new threat to her world before the darkness engulfs it.

Lady of Fire

United they must stand for destruction is upon them. The realm of Celadmore faces it’s destruction as a war that none perceived is brought against them. Venetia, Queen of the Order of Anagura and Queteria, must forge a new alliance between the nations of Celadmore against the evil that Aksoth, Lord of Nether Roth, is set to unleash. The Allied Spirit of Celadmore must be raised and march once more.

End of Days

The end is here. Aksoth’s forces roam unchecked across the plains of Celadmore; the people of Celadmore have been forced to retreat to the fallen city of Grashindorph. Revolution stirs amongst the poorest of the people; Venetia seeks to restore Gruagadon to his rightful place on the throne of Nesca and will sacrifice anything to get him there. In this final bastion, they must find victory.

The Chronicles of Celadmore (in chronological order)

The Rising Empire Trilogy
1. Rising Empire: Part 1
2. Rising Empire: Part 2
3. Rising Empire: Part 3

Shroud of Darkness Trilogy
4. Shroud of Darkness
5. Lady of Fire
6. End of Days

Fading Dawn Trilogy
7. When Darkness Falls
8. Torn Allegiance
9. Fading Dawn

Ailing Light Trilogy
10. Ailing Light
11. Ill Blowing Wind
12. Shadow of the South

Sign up to our mailing list to get the latest news, releases and offers from Mightier Then the Sword UK.
%d bloggers like this: